barcrest elvis top 20 (rio) error code 16 comms breakdown

Need help with your machine? Request it here...
jcposs
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:39 pm

barcrest elvis top 20 (rio) error code 16 comms breakdown

Postby jcposs » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:06 pm

Post awaiting approval:

[THREADS MERGED]
Hi. My m/c will not boot up. The display shows "unknown software exception 00000.tmp at loc00000" - click OK to end program. The furthest I can get is to the alarm screen showing error 16 comms breakdown. The only options there are system info, updates, and reboot (no option to choose category.) This was someone fiddling with the m/c who tried to reboot it in CategoryD instead of the correct CatB3, and consequently it now wont boot up. Its not getting as far as the programs.
Please help with ANY advice if you can as this is really doing my head in! Alternatively, if you know anyone qualified to do repairs in the Newcastle on Tyne area I'd pay well to have this sorted.
Regards/Many thanks... JEREMY P.

aaamusements
Site Security
Site Security
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: barcrest elvis top 20 (rio) error code 16 comms breakdow

Postby aaamusements » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:12 pm

Post awaiting approval:

Hmmm it's not really my area of expertise, these machines, but I can probably point you in the direction of someone who can help...
Will get back to you soon as I can.

jcposs
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:39 pm

Help given where possible!

Postby jcposs » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:25 pm

Post awaiting approval:

Hi. I'd already posted my thread before I spotted yours! I've got an elvis top20 error 16 comms breakdown when trying to boot up. Someone mistakenly rebooted it in Category D instead of the correct B3. Now it wont boot into any programs including service menus. I can only get as far as alarm screen with option to reboot, but no option to choose in which category! The main screen gets as far as... "Unknown software exception 00000.tmp at loc00000" etc and click ok to end program. Screen goes blank. It has Mpu5. Is it possible to interrupt boot sequence and rectify that way
Any suggestiona here would be greatly appreciated.
Many thanks....

JEREMY

aaamusements
Site Security
Site Security
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: barcrest elvis top 20 (rio) error code 16 comms breakdow

Postby aaamusements » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:33 pm

Post awaiting approval:

Not totally sure what effect it would have doing that but it's possible that they have totally buggered it and the hard drive will need a new image...

jcposs
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Help given where possible!

Postby jcposs » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:48 pm

Post awaiting approval:

............
Last edited by jcposs on Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

aaamusements
Site Security
Site Security
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: barcrest elvis top 20 (rio) error code 16 comms breakdow

Postby aaamusements » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:55 pm

Post awaiting approval:

To be honest someone with a laptop who understands PCs may be better than a fruit machine engineer in this situation! Cheaper too most likely.

Images are available, I know a few people... let me know if you do need it done and I will see what I can do.

jcposs
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Help given where possible!

Postby jcposs » Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:07 pm

Post awaiting approval:

You're a star and the only one I've had any constructive help and advice from! (This is p*****g me off so much I'm having bad dreams about it!!!) I'll see how tomorrow goes and let you know what the outcome is. I just hope its not been wiped!
Kind regards,
JEREMY P

aaamusements
Site Security
Site Security
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: Help given where possible!

Postby aaamusements » Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:10 pm

Post awaiting approval:

No worries happy to help.

Whatever has happened it's most likely fixable so don't stress too much about it! Easy to say I know, but definitely not worth losing sleep over.
:wink:

jcposs
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Help given where possible!

Postby jcposs » Sat Nov 17, 2012 12:56 pm

Post awaiting approval:

Hi its jeremy. Had the pc tech guy here this a.m.. He thinks its the mpu5 board telling the pc to boot in category D. Have you got any ideas what each of the mpu5 board dipSW's 1-8 do, and if there a dipSW combination that will reset the m/c to cat B3? Its almost definately a config boot problem, where the mpu5 is telling the pc to go somewhere that doesn't even exist ie., cat D! He suggested possibly just try replacing the mpu5 cartridge/board? Many thanks, Jeremy P.

aaamusements
Site Security
Site Security
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: Help given where possible!

Postby aaamusements » Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:14 pm

Post awaiting approval:

I will see what I can find out.

Just thought, any flashing lights on the board? This can be interpreted as a error that the board has self-diagnosed.

aaamusements
Site Security
Site Security
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: barcrest elvis top 20 (rio) error code 16 comms breakdow

Postby aaamusements » Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:38 pm

Post awaiting approval:

Jeremy, a very important point - what are the LED lamps on the MPU5 board doing?

If there is a problem with the board then it should be flashing an error code which might give us a better idea of what's going wrong.

jcposs
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Help given where possible!

Postby jcposs » Sat Nov 17, 2012 4:26 pm

Post awaiting approval:

hi thanks for reply. Towards top left of mpu5 from top to bottom:
RED - OFF
Green - FLASHING
Green 1 - On constant
Green 2 - off
Green 3&4 - On constant

To the lower right of mpu5 is a small board with:
Green 1 - ON CONSTANT
GREEN 2 - OFF
Red 1 - flashing
Red 2 - Off

Thanks, jeremy....

aaamusements
Site Security
Site Security
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: Help given where possible!

Postby aaamusements » Sat Nov 17, 2012 4:36 pm

Post awaiting approval:

Hmmm. I doubt there is a problem with the MPU5 board itself.

Just wondered has anyone recently fiddled with coin mech, hopper/s or note acceptor (if fitted)?

jcposs
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Help given where possible!

Postby jcposs » Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:11 pm

Post awaiting approval:

Hi again, just an add on to my last post to you, the techy plugged a keyboard in the pc and a config error message came up which is halting the boot process. He suspected it appeared to be booting to a point, then asking the mpu5 what it wants to do, and of course the mpu5 will be asking for category D instead of the correct B3. We noticed the 'cartridge' just clips out and back in. Might it be easiest if I can manage to buy a new cartridge from somewhere, ready configured to go to elvis top20 B3? Are you able get your hands on one of them?
Failing that it appears I'm goosed! And its really bugging me.
If the worst comes to the worst I'll have to part-ex it for another elvis top20 rio that just works!!
It's a shame because I'm pretty sure all the hardware is fine, its just this damn software problem...
PS- My direct email address is possjc@gmail.com if thats any help or is easier for you.
Many many thanks... I await your much valued help and advice as usual!!! Jeremy.

aaamusements
Site Security
Site Security
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: Help given where possible!

Postby aaamusements » Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:52 am

Post awaiting approval:

The thing is that as far as I know there is no way to accidentally change what is on the program card - there should be no volatile memory on there. So replacing the program card is not to help.


Return to “Technical Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests